Orchestras conducted





Orkestern Filialen, Uppsala Blåsarsymfoniker, Södra Latinsgymnasium symfoniorkester. Kamus Stråkorkester, Bergslagenskammarsymfoniker, Nya Kammarorkestern i Uppsala (chief conductor)

Great Britain

The Cambridge Modern Orchestra (founder, music director), Royal Scottish National Orchestra, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Red Note Contemporary Ensemble, Edinburgh University String Orchestra, Copernicus Festival Orchestra, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Symphony Orchestra


Festival Strings Lucerne 


Peterborough Symphony Orchestra, Thunder Bay Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre de la francophonie canadienne, Les Violons du Roy, L'Orchestre symphonique du conservatoire de musique de Montreal, McGill University Contemporary Music Ensemble 


Classica Symphony Orchestra


Orquestra Filharmonica del Estado de Chihuahua

Czech Republic

Bohuslav Martinu Philharmonic Orchestra


Thueringen Philharmonie 


Bard Institute Orchestra, Rose City Chamber Orchestra

  Choir directorships

Atinakören (Enåker, Sweden)

Pro Musica Västerås (Västerås, Sweden)

Animakören (Heby, Sweden) 


Master of Music in Conducting - Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (2008 - 2010)
Sir Alexander Gibson Conducting Award
Principal professor:  Alasdair Mitchell (student of Igor Markevitch and Franco Ferrara)  Additional tuition from Luke Dollman, James Lowe, and Robin Page
Assistant conductor for Martyn Brabbins, Baldur Brönnimann, Nicholas Cleobury, Lutz Koehler, Timothy Dean and Garry Walker
Scottish Opera

Postgraduate Diploma in Conducting - Conservatoire de musique de Montréal (2006 - 2008)
Principal professor:  Raffi Armenian (student of Hans Swarovsky in Vienna in the 1960s)
Assistant conductor of Luigi Nono Festival under the music director, Véronique Lacroix
Voice lessons with Prof. Gabrielle Lavigne
Travel grant from Canada Council for the Arts

Bachelor of Music in Composition and Piano - McGill University  (2000 - 2004)
Principal composition professors:  Brian Cherney, Jean Lesage, and John Rea
Principal piano professor:  Marina Mdivani (prize-winner of the International Tchaikovsky Competition.  Student of Emil Gilels)
GPA 3.91 out of 4.00, High Distinction, Dean’s Honour List, Faculty of Music Award, Levain & Viner Memorial Award, McGill Faculty of Music Scholarship   

© 2017 by Duk-Kyung Chang